Quick picks
Japan eSIM picks at a glance
eSIM.dog, 5 GB for 10 days, $2.39
Lowest full price in the 5 GB / 10-day comparison. A shared data pool suits maps, trains, and messaging between Wi-Fi stops.
eSIM.dog, 10 GB for 15 days, $5.99
Lowest full price in the 10 GB / 15-day comparison. More room for photos and searches, without a separate allowance for each day.
Ubigi, unlimited for 8 days, $25
5 GB a day at full speed, then 2 Mbps until the daily reset. Lowest qualifying price for frequent video and photo uploads. Hotspot support is not specified.
🧭 Start here
eSIM vs SIM card vs pocket Wi-Fi in Japan
Choosing a provider becomes simpler after six checks: connection type, allowance, plan type, provider and price, network, and activation. The route below follows that order and ends in one recommendation.
The route starts with the connection itself. Visitors generally use a travel eSIM, a physical SIM, or a rented pocket Wi-Fi router; each suits a different phone and travel group.
📲 Travel eSIM
A QR code adds a digital data line while the home SIM stays in a compatible unlocked phone.
✓ Best for: Solo travelers and couples with compatible unlocked phones.
— Trade-off: Unsupported or carrier-locked phones cannot install it.
💳 Physical SIM
A prepaid plastic SIM replaces the home card and can move between compatible unlocked phones.
✓ Best for: Phones without eSIM support or trips that may require moving the line between devices.
— Trade-off: It must be collected and swapped in, and the home SIM needs safe storage.
📡 Pocket Wi-Fi
A rented battery-powered router shares one mobile connection with nearby phones, tablets, and laptops.
✓ Best for: Families or groups staying together, plus Wi-Fi-only devices.
— Trade-off: It needs daily charging and return, and access disappears when the group splits.
The practical choice for most trips. A travel eSIM often costs much less than an airport SIM or pocket-Wi-Fi rental, works independently on each compatible phone, and requires nothing to collect or return.
The later tables compare eSIM allowances. Physical SIMs cover phones without eSIM; pocket Wi-Fi suits groups sharing several devices. Hotel and café Wi-Fi helps, but mobile data is still needed between hotspots.
Once the connection type is clear, the next question is how much mobile data the trip actually needs.
📶 Data allowance
How much data do I need for Japan?
With the connection type established, the allowance is the next filter. It should reflect time away from hotel Wi-Fi; a monthly phone total excludes Wi-Fi use.
In Japan, mobile data mainly covers maps, train times, searches, messages, and photos between connected places.
Each colored segment matches the same-colored icon below, and its width shows that activity's share of the package. These are planning budgets because video quality, photo size, backups, and app updates can change the total quickly.
5 GB
10-day city trip
About 500 MB a day
- Maps & transit0.5 GB
- Messages & searches1 GB
- Photos home2 GB
- Bookings & browsing0.5 GB
- Spare for busy days1 GB
Best fit: sightseeing with hotel Wi-Fi each day.
10 GB
About two active weeks
About 700 MB a day
- Maps & transit0.8 GB
- Messages & searches1.2 GB
- Photos & social media4 GB
- Low-data video3 GB
- Spare for busy days1 GB
Best fit: daily sharing with some video away from Wi-Fi.
20 GB
A month or a work trip
Flexible daily use
- Maps & transit1.2 GB
- Messages & searches1.8 GB
- Photos & social media5 GB
- Calls & tethering9 GB
- Spare for busy days3 GB
Best fit: remote work, regular calls, or a longer trip.
💡 Choosing between sizes. Spare data helps when daily use is uncertain. The price comparison below shows what each package costs before adding that buffer.
📵 Reducing usage first. Offline maps, Wi-Fi photo backup, and Wi-Fi-only app updates preserve the allowance before an upgrade becomes necessary.
Once the allowance is clear, the remaining choice is how that data is released across the trip.
♾️ Plan type
Is an unlimited eSIM worth it in Japan?
With the allowance estimated, the next decision is how that data is released. It comes as one fixed pool or a daily high-speed quota that resets.
Unlimited does not mean unlimited data at full speed. A daily allowance can be followed by slower continued data until the next reset. The allowance and reduced speed both matter for streaming or work.
Two figures determine heavy-use performance: the daily high-speed allowance and the speed after it. Missing values prevent a reliable comparison after the allowance is exhausted. The practical distinction is between a pool that can be spent unevenly and a daily allowance that cannot carry over.
- 🪣 Fixed data suits occasional heavy days. One evening can carry a week of photo uploads, followed by several quiet days of maps. The shared pool absorbs that pattern.
- 🔁 Unlimited suits consistently heavy days. Laptop tethering, remote work, or streaming on trains can exhaust a fixed pool early, while the daily reset restores high-speed data.
💡 Where fixed data makes sense. $7.44 buys 20 GB across 30 days; the 7-day unlimited example costs $12.67 for 2 GB/day, then 1 Mbps. These serve different trip lengths. A shared pool can absorb one busy day without a daily reset.
That choice fixes the type of plan to compare across providers next.
🔍 The reviews
Best eSIM providers for Japan
With size and plan type established, six providers can be compared against the same needs. The profiles show which selected plans fit each travel pattern.
eSIM.dog
our recommendation

5 GB · 10d · $2.39 · 10 GB · 15d · $5.99 · 20 GB · 30d · $7.44 · $12.67 unlimited / 7d
Cheapest in all four comparisons here. The fixed plans match the three trip examples; the unlimited week provides 2 GB a day, then 1 Mbps. Data, duration, and network route can also be adjusted to suit a different itinerary.
Best fit: Trips that need a tailored package, with no account or separate app required to buy it.
Ubigi
heavy daily use

5 GB · 15d · $10 · 10 GB · 30d · $16.50 · 25 GB · 30d · $32 · $25 unlimited / 8d
Frequent video and photo uploads make a larger daily allowance useful. Its heavier-use option provides 5 GB a day for 8 days at $25, then 2 Mbps. It is the pick in the heavier-use comparison.
Best fit: Busy days of sharing and streaming. Laptop use depends on confirmation of hotspot support.
Airalo
fixed or daily allowance

5 GB · 15d · $10.50 · 10 GB · 15d · $17.50 · 20 GB · 30d · $25 · $26 unlimited / 7d
Its 7-day unlimited plan provides 3 GB a day, then 1 Mbps. Fixed data can be saved for longer sightseeing days; the daily plan gives each day its own allowance. The trade-off is less flexibility to move unused data from a quiet day to a busy one.
Best fit: A predictable daily routine, or a fixed package sized for an uneven itinerary.
Nomad
flexible trip timing

5 GB · 30d · $10 · 10 GB · 30d · $16 · 20 GB · 30d · $23 · $25 unlimited / 7d
The selected fixed packages all last 30 days. That leaves room to spread the data across a longer stay, although unused validity adds little to a short visit. Its 7-day unlimited plan provides 2 GB a day, then 1 Mbps.
Best fit: Longer stays or uncertain dates, when extra validity is useful.
Jetpac
short stays

5 GB · 30d · $10 · 10 GB · 30d · $16 · 20 GB · 30d · $40 · $26.99 unlimited / 7d
Plans starting at 1 day can cover a brief stop without buying a full week. Its 7-day unlimited plan provides 3 GB a day, then 1 Mbps. Daily data suits steady use; a fixed pool leaves more room for one unusually busy day.
Best fit: Stopovers and short visits, with longer packages available for a full holiday.
Saily
frequent video and sharing

5 GB · 30d · $10.99 · 10 GB · 30d · $17.99 · 20 GB · 30d · $24.99 · $28.99 unlimited / 7d
Its 7-day unlimited plan provides 5 GB a day, then 1 Mbps. The larger daily allowance leaves more room for video and photo uploads before speeds fall. A fixed package is more flexible when most data is needed on just a few days.
Best fit: Regular high-use days; laptop tethering also depends on the package’s hotspot terms.
The profiles establish which plans fit each need. Full-price comparison now shows what those nearest matches cost across fixed-data sizes and unlimited plans.
💰 Side by side
Japan eSIM price comparison
The provider reviews establish the practical differences, while price narrows the shortlist. Each bar uses the full price of the closest plan that meets the example’s minimum data and validity, selected before price was considered.
💡 What the chart shows. eSIM.dog has the lowest full price in each fixed-data comparison. Longer validity or extra data on another plan remains useful only if the trip needs it.
Unlimited eSIM plans for Japan: price and daily limits
Unlimited plans need a separate comparison because validity, the daily high-speed allowance, and reduced speed determine how the plan behaves in practice. Plans must cover at least seven days with 2 GB a day and continued data at 1 Mbps or faster. The table shows each provider's closest eligible plan and its full price.
| Provider | Plan | Full price | Full speed per day, then | Hotspot |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| eSIM.dog | 7 days | $12.67 | 2 GB/day, then 1 Mbps | Allowed |
| Ubigi | 8 days · distant match | $25 | 5 GB/day, then 2 Mbps | Not specified |
| Airalo | 7 days | $26 | 3 GB/day, then 1 Mbps | Not specified |
| Nomad | 7 days | $25 | 2 GB/day, then 1 Mbps | Allowed |
| Jetpac | 7 days | $26.99 | 3 GB/day, then 1 Mbps | Allowed |
| Saily | 7 days · distant match | $28.99 | 5 GB/day, then 1 Mbps | Not specified |
- Plan
- 7 days
- Full price
- $12.67
- Full speed per day, then
- 2 GB/day, then 1 Mbps
- Hotspot
- Allowed
- Plan
- 8 days · distant match
- Full price
- $25
- Full speed per day, then
- 5 GB/day, then 2 Mbps
- Hotspot
- Not specified
- Plan
- 7 days
- Full price
- $26
- Full speed per day, then
- 3 GB/day, then 1 Mbps
- Hotspot
- Not specified
- Plan
- 7 days
- Full price
- $25
- Full speed per day, then
- 2 GB/day, then 1 Mbps
- Hotspot
- Allowed
- Plan
- 7 days
- Full price
- $26.99
- Full speed per day, then
- 3 GB/day, then 1 Mbps
- Hotspot
- Allowed
- Plan
- 7 days · distant match
- Full price
- $28.99
- Full speed per day, then
- 5 GB/day, then 1 Mbps
- Hotspot
- Not specified
For frequent video and photo uploads, Ubigi leads in the heavier-use comparison. Ubigi: 5 GB a day for 8 days at $25, then 2 Mbps. Hotspot permission still needs confirmation before using a heavier-use plan for laptop work.
How these plans were chosen
- Providers. Six providers offering Japan plans, compared across fixed data and daily-reset unlimited options.
- Fixed data. At least 5 GB / 10 days for a city trip, 10 GB / 14 days for two active weeks, and 20 GB / 30 days for a month. The two-week comparison targets the common 15-day package size. Plans below either minimum are excluded before scoring. Data counts slightly more than validity when selecting the nearest eligible plan. A distant match is labelled in the table.
- Unlimited. Closest to 7 days, 2 GB a day, then 1 Mbps. Duration comes first, daily allowance second, and reduced speed third. Daily-reset and pooled unlimited plans are different products.
- Price. Full listed USD prices, compared only after selection. Subscriptions, new-customer offers, and promo codes are excluded. Checkout can change the final total.
- Heavier use. At least 5 GB a day over 7–8 days, continuing at 1 Mbps or more. Lowest full price among qualifying plans wins; equal prices favour the higher reduced speed. Laptop use also requires explicit hotspot permission.
- Limits. Missing terms are marked, not assumed. Published allowances cannot establish real-world speed or signal at a particular address.
Compared prices dated .
5 GB / 10d: $2.39 · 10 GB / 15d: $5.99 · 20 GB / 30d: $7.44 · 7-day unlimited: $12.67
The full table, all three trip sizes
| Provider | Closest to 5 GB / 10 days | Closest to 10 GB / 15 days | Closest to 20 GB / 30 days |
|---|---|---|---|
| eSIM.dog | 5 GB · 10d · $2.39 | 10 GB · 15d · $5.99 | 20 GB · 30d · $7.44 |
| Ubigi | 5 GB · 15d · $10 | 10 GB · 30d · $16.50 | 25 GB · 30d · $32 |
| Airalo | 5 GB · 15d · $10.50 | 10 GB · 15d · $17.50 | 20 GB · 30d · $25 |
| Nomad | 5 GB · 30d · $10 · distant match | 10 GB · 30d · $16 | 20 GB · 30d · $23 |
| Jetpac | 5 GB · 30d · $10 · distant match | 10 GB · 30d · $16 | 20 GB · 30d · $40 |
| Saily | 5 GB · 30d · $10.99 · distant match | 10 GB · 30d · $17.99 | 20 GB · 30d · $24.99 |
- Closest to 5 GB / 10 days
- 5 GB · 10d · $2.39
- Closest to 10 GB / 15 days
- 10 GB · 15d · $5.99
- Closest to 20 GB / 30 days
- 20 GB · 30d · $7.44
- Closest to 5 GB / 10 days
- 5 GB · 15d · $10
- Closest to 10 GB / 15 days
- 10 GB · 30d · $16.50
- Closest to 20 GB / 30 days
- 25 GB · 30d · $32
- Closest to 5 GB / 10 days
- 5 GB · 15d · $10.50
- Closest to 10 GB / 15 days
- 10 GB · 15d · $17.50
- Closest to 20 GB / 30 days
- 20 GB · 30d · $25
- Closest to 5 GB / 10 days
- 5 GB · 30d · $10 · distant match
- Closest to 10 GB / 15 days
- 10 GB · 30d · $16
- Closest to 20 GB / 30 days
- 20 GB · 30d · $23
- Closest to 5 GB / 10 days
- 5 GB · 30d · $10 · distant match
- Closest to 10 GB / 15 days
- 10 GB · 30d · $16
- Closest to 20 GB / 30 days
- 20 GB · 30d · $40
- Closest to 5 GB / 10 days
- 5 GB · 30d · $10.99 · distant match
- Closest to 10 GB / 15 days
- 10 GB · 30d · $17.99
- Closest to 20 GB / 30 days
- 20 GB · 30d · $24.99
With price and unlimited performance compared, the shortlist is ready for its last product check: whether the named Japanese network fits the route.
🗾 Coverage
Which mobile networks do Japan eSIMs use?
Price narrows the list. Network suitability then depends on the planned route: travel eSIMs connect through NTT Docomo, KDDI/au, SoftBank, or Rakuten Mobile.
📍 Where coverage matters. Around Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto, Fukuoka, Sapporo, and the main Shinkansen lines, the choice usually makes little difference. The named operator matters more in the Japanese Alps, inland Hokkaido, Yakushima, and the outer Okinawa islands.
The unlimited eSIM.dog example names SoftBank · KDDI/au · NTT Docomo · Rakuten Mobile. The fixed packages below use their selected routes. For rural or island travel, the exact Japanese operator matters more than the eSIM brand alone.
5 GB / 10d: KDDI/au; internet exit: Hong Kong.
10 GB / 15d: SoftBank; internet exit: Japan.
20 GB / 30d: NTT Docomo · Rakuten Mobile · KDDI/au · SoftBank; internet exit: Hong Kong.
Once the route fits, the last practical decision is timing: when to install the eSIM and when its validity starts.
⚡ Setup
When should I install and activate my Japan eSIM?
With the plan and network chosen, the remaining question is when its validity begins. Preparation before the flight depends on the selected package's start rule and activation deadline.
⏱️ When the clock starts. Installation and validity can begin at different times. The exact package rule determines whether preparation at home uses any of the travel days.
📅 Activation deadline. Some packages must be activated within a set period after purchase. The package instructions determine how far ahead of departure it can be bought.
✅ Before payment. The phone needs eSIM support and no carrier lock. After landing, data roaming on the home SIM should remain off to prevent charges from the usual operator.
The screens for both phone systems are in the installation guide. A QR code that refuses to scan is covered on the activation troubleshooting page.
At this point every decision is in place: connection type, data size, plan shape, provider, network, and activation. The final summary puts them back into one travel recommendation.
🧩 Trip summary
Which Japan eSIM should I choose?
The route began with six checks. Four decide the purchase directly; network and setup confirm that the selected plan fits the route and can be prepared before departure.
- 1. Connection: A travel eSIM suits most solo travelers and couples. A physical SIM covers an incompatible phone, while pocket Wi-Fi serves a group sharing several devices.
- 2. Data allowance: 5 GB covers maps and messages, 10 GB adds more photos or video, and 20 GB fits a month or regular laptop tethering.
- 3. Plan type: Fixed data suits uneven use across a trip. Daily-reset unlimited fits consistently heavy use. Ubigi is the heavier-use pick for frequent video and photo uploads.
- 4. Provider: eSIM.dog has the lowest full price in all four comparisons.
For most Japan trips, we recommend eSIM.dog. Data, duration, network route, and the available speed after the daily allowance can be configured around the trip. Purchase requires no account or separate app.
Japan plans
Compare eSIM.dog plans for Japan
Japan plans can be configured for the trip and purchased without an account.
Before purchase
Japan eSIM FAQ
What is the best eSIM for Japan?
eSIM.dog has the lowest full price in all four comparisons. eSIM.dog is the recommendation here for configurable data, duration, and network routes, with no account required to purchase.
How much data do I need for Japan?
A 10-day city trip built around hotel Wi-Fi can fit within 5 GB. About two active weeks with daily sharing usually needs 10 GB, while a month or regular calls and laptop tethering points to 20 GB.
Is 10 GB enough for two weeks in Japan?
Yes, if high-quality video and backups stay on Wi-Fi. One workable budget leaves 2 GB for maps and messages, 4 GB for photos and social media, 3 GB for low-data video, and 1 GB spare.
Regular video calls, laptop tethering, or high-quality streaming can exceed that budget. Those uses are better served by 20 GB or a daily-reset unlimited plan.
Is unlimited eSIM data really unlimited in Japan?
The selected daily-reset plans provide a high-speed allowance, then continue between 1 Mbps and 2 Mbps until the next reset. “Unlimited” does not mean unlimited full-speed data.
Which network has the best coverage in Japan?
No published plan detail can name one universal winner. All four operators cover the cities and main Shinkansen lines; differences appear in mountains and on smaller islands.
The operator named on the exact plan can be checked against its coverage map for the planned stops.
Will I get 5G in Japan?
The four selected eSIM.dog examples list LTE and 5G. Actual access also depends on the local network, phone, location, and route selected in the catalogue.
Does a Japan travel eSIM give me a Japanese phone number?
Usually not, because these are data plans. A number needed for bookings, deliveries, or SMS verification has to be included in the package or kept active on the home line.
A number for verification codes is sold as a separate product.
Can I use a hotspot with a Japan eSIM?
eSIM.dog, Nomad, Jetpac list hotspot support for the selected daily plans. The table marks any unspecified hotspot terms.
Tethering consumes the same allowance. Laptop updates and video calls can use it much faster than maps and messages.
When does a Japan eSIM start counting down?
A Japan eSIM’s validity can begin at installation or first connection, depending on the package. Its activation instructions determine whether installing before departure uses any travel days.
Will my phone work with a Japan eSIM?
An eSIM-capable, carrier-unlocked phone is required. Common examples include an iPhone XS or newer, a Pixel 3 or newer, and recent Samsung Galaxy models.
Model support varies by market, so compatibility depends on the exact device. The installation guide shows the steps on both phone systems.
When should I buy my Japan eSIM?
Buying shortly before departure leaves time for installation on Wi-Fi. Early purchase requires checking both the installation rule and the last date by which the package must be activated.
What if the trip also covers Korea or Taiwan?
The price comparison should include both a regional package and separate country plans. The result depends on the number of days in each place.
A multi-country trip needs a package that explicitly covers every stop. The eSIM.dog catalogue includes Asia and separate destinations for South Korea, Taiwan, and Hong Kong.
Is an eSIM cheaper than roaming with my home carrier?
The eSIM.dog 10 GB / 15-day example costs $5.99 in total. Whether it beats home-carrier roaming depends on the included roaming allowance and the full pass price for the same trip.
